Solo To Sarnia Return Day 3

So day three: it started out OK, got away about 9:30ish but was moving pretty slow with a killer headache.  As my head was feeling sensitive, I had to make a few stops to try and adjust my iPod volume. I finally got that sorted and started riding along.

Since I’ve been trying to remember to stop more, I made a first stop to take some lake pics.

Off to a good start, then I decided to stop for a snack at about 12:30 …

After snacking I decided to lay back for awhile, and … oops … fell asleep, so I took some pics of my nap spot …

My head felt better after the nap but now I was kind of behind. Except for gas stops, I basically just rode until I got to Superior. No more pics.

At one gas stop I heard thunder so on went the jacket liner to stay dry, but I think I just caught the edge of the storm and only got about 15 minutes of light showers and probably didn’t need liner.

So just a quick rant – when I started to think about this trip I decided to go ahead and purchase some made-to-measure gear that I had been thinking about for 4 or 5 years, and saving for, for the last 2 or 3.  Well what a big disappointment. I don’t know who they made it for but it wasn’t me. The jacket is huge and the liner is so small that I can’t get a extra layer underneath. When I wear the two together it’s tight and uncomfortable; and the jacket by itself is a whole other story.  When I get back I hope I can talk to them and maybe send it back for some adjustment.

Rant over.

The rest of the ride was pretty uneventful, but my one pet peeve is cars that can’t keep a constant speed. Come on people – I’m pretty sure you have cruise control, so use it. And another thing: stop doing the passing lane dash where you do 50mph until you see a passing lane then speed up to 65/70 mph and only 2 or 3 people can get by you and then slow back down to 50mph when the lane ends and the other 15 people behind you are left frustrated.  Oops … another rant. Oh well.

Anyway, got into Superior about 4:30, went for a swim and a soak in the hot tub and all is good.  Tomorrow off to Fargo.

Leave a Reply

